The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization welcomed the deposit of the instrument of accession of Yemen to the Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works on April 14, 2008. The said International Convention will enter into force in the country on July 14, 2008. On that date, Yemen will also become a member of the International Union for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works (“Berne Union”), founded by the Berne Convention.

By way of background, the Berne Convention currently has a total of 164 contracting member states, which makes it one of the most widely adopted treaties worldwide. Contracting member states from our region include: Algeria, Bahrain, Cyprus, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Mauritania.

Should you have any questions, or require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us at