The Director General of the World Intellectual Property Organization welcomed the deposit of the instrument of accession of Syria to the Hague Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Industrial Designs on February 07, 2008. The agreement entered into force in the country on May 07, 2008. This comes in compliance with Ministerial Resolution no. 404 of 2007, issued on September 26, 2007, marking the government’s approval of the country’s accession to the Hague Agreement and calling upon the local authorities concerned to deposit the instrument of accession to the Agreement in accordance with its provisions. The Hague Agreement currently has a total of 48 contracting member states. Member states from our region include: Egypt (in force as of July 01, 1952), Morocco (in force as of October 20, 1993), Tunisia (in force as of October 20, 1930), and Turkey (in force as of January 01, 2005).

Should you have any questions, or require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us at