The government of Bahrain has recently approved the country’s accession to the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Customs Union which was launched by the GCC Supreme Council in its 23rd summit held in Qatar on the 21st and 22nd of December 2002. In this scope, the government of Bahrain has agreed to implement all the related procedures and regulations for the establishment of this Union.

Below are the salient features of the GCC Customs Union:

1. A common Customs law applicable to the GCC member states (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates).

2. A common external Customs tariff for products imported from outside of the GCC Customs Union.

3. Unified Customs regulations and rules applicable in all member states.

4. Unification of the internal Customs, financial and administrative regulations, and procedures relating to importation, exportation and re-exportation in the GCC member states.

5. The free movement of goods among the GCC member states without Customs or Non-Customs restrictions.

6. Treatment of the goods produced in any of the GCC member states as national products.

Should you have any questions, or require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us at